Connect with us


Check Out Full List Of 2021 SAFTA’s Nominees


The South African Film and Television Awards is a platform that gives credit to excellence in the film and television industry. 

The show will be held on the Saturday 22nd of May, 2021 with a virtual half hour red carpet broadcast that starts by 18:30 and the 2-hour live broadcast starting by 19:00.

Best Short Film                                                                    

Heirloom (Butterfly Films)

The Stranger (TH Films (Pty) Ltd)

Uxolile (Zinc Pictures)     

Best Student Film                                                                

Binding Adventures from The Animation School

Flower in the Subway from The Animation School

The Boy and the Robin from The Animation School

TV Soap/Telenovela

Best Achievement in Directing – Telenovela

Gomora Season 1 (Mzansi Magic)

Practitioners: Thabang Moleya, Nthabiseng Mokoena, Nozipho Nkelemba & Lefuno Nekhabambe (Mzansi Magic)

Isono (BET Africa)

Practitioners: Zuko Nodada, Zimkitha Maseko, John Barker & Gert Van Niekerk

Legacy (MNet)

Practitioners: Johnny Barbuzano, Catharine Cooke, Krijay Govender & Andre Odendaal 

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap

Binnelanders (kykNET)

Practitioner: Danie Joubert

Rhythm City (

Practitioner: Eric Mogale

Scandal! (

Practitioners: Chris Beasley, Sanele Zulu, Tsakani Mongwe, Philasande Malunga & Sphamandla Nqcobo

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap

Getroud met Rugby (kykNET)

Practitioners: Deon Opperman, Frederick Botha, Ansu Visser, Igna Botha, Burger Meyer, Johann Van Staden, Stiaan Smith, Marius de Bruyn, Percy Pretorius & Monique Nortje

Rhythm City (

Practitioners:  Zelipa Zulu

Scandal! (

Practitioners: Ameera Patel, Grace Mahlaba, Daryn Katz, Kelly Robinson, Mark Wilson, Nonhlanhla Simelane, Omphile Molusi, Rosalind Butler, Stephen Simm, Tereska Muishond, Themba Mahlangu, Myolisi Sikupela & Thomas Hall

Best Achievement in Original Music/Score

The River (1Magic)

Practitioners:  Brendan Jury

Arendsvlei Season 2 (kykNET)

Practitioners: Murray Anderson

Isibaya (Mzansi Magic)

Practitioners: Philip Miller

Gomora Season 1 (Mzansi Magic)

Practitioners: Zethu Mashika

Best Achievement in Editing – Telenovela

Legacy (MNet)

Practitioners: Ula Oelsen & Natalie Varoy

The Queen (Mzansi Magic)

Practitioners: Wesleigh James Kapotis, Tseliso Patrick Peni & Motheke Wayne Hutamo

The River (1Magic)

Practitioners: Bongi Malefo, Edgar Sibaya, Sphiwe Nhlumayo & Ula Oelsen

Best Achievement in Sound – TV Soap/Telenovela

Arendsvlei Season 2 (kykNET)

Practitioners: Stash Couvaras

Scandal (

Practitioner: Chad Snell

The River (1Magic)

Practitioner: Ben Oelsen & Tladi Mabuya

Best Achievement in Cinematography – Telenovela

Durban Gen (

Practitioner: Marc Brower

Legacy (MNet)

Practitioner: Trevor Brown

The River (1Magic)

Practitioner: Ntobeko Dlamini

Best Achievement in Wardrobe – TV Soap/Telenovela

Durban Gen (

Practitioner: Sheli Masondo

Legacy (MNet)

Practitioner: Zandile Mncwango

The River (1Magic),

Practitioner: Nombulelo Sithole

Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling- TV Soap/Telenovela

Legacy (1Magic)

Practitioner: Jenny Sprawson

Durban Gen (

Practitioner: Silindile Dladla

7de Laan (SABC 2)

Practitioner: Elzette Van Der Schyff

Best Actor – Telenovela

Dawid Minnaar, Legacy (MNet)

Character: Willem Potgieter

Menzi Ngubane (Mzansi Magic)

Character: Judas Nqwenya

Presley Chweneyagae, The River (1Magic)

Character: Cobra

Best Supporting Actress – Telenovela

Rami Chuene, Isono (BET Africa)

Character: Jumima Ndlovu

Michelle Botes, Legacy (MNet)

Character: Angelique Price

Quanita Adams, Arendsvlei Season 2 (kykNET)

Character: Leatitia Meintjies

Best Supporting Actor – Telenovela

Andrew Buckland, Legacy (MNet)

Character: Detective Badenhorst

Lawrence Maleka, The River (1Magic)

Character: Zolani

Meshack Mavuso Magabane, The River (1Magic)

Character: Nsizwa

Best Actress – TV Soap

Cindy Swanepoel, Binnelanders (kykNET)

Character:  Annelize Roux

Petronella Tshuma, Rhythm City (

Character: Pearl Genaro

Shoki Mmola, Skeem Saam – (SABC 1)

Character: Celia Magongwa

Best Actor-TV Soap

Clint Brink, Binnelanders (kykNET)

Character: Steve Abrahams

Cedwyn Joel, Suidooster (kykNET)

Character: AB Samosodien

Bongile Mantsai, Scandal! (

Character: Mthunzi Mayiza

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap

Award Title

Mapula Mafole, Rhythm City (

Character: Mapula

Masasa Mbangeni (

Character: Thembeka Shezi Nyathi

Portia Joel, Suidooster (kykNET)

Character: Lee Anne Jacobs

Best TV Soap

7de Laan (SABC 2)

Production House: Danie Odendaal Productions (SABC 2)

Rhythm City (

Production House: Quizzical Pictures

Scandal! (

Production House: Ochre Media       

Best Telenovela       

Best Telenovela – Gomora Season 1 (Mzansi Magic)

Production House: Seriti Films

Best Telenovela – Legacy (MNet)

Production House: Tshedza Pictures

Best Telenovela – The River (1Magic)

Production House: Tshedza Pictures

TV Drama

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama

Award Title

Blood and Water Season 1 (Netflix)

Practitioners: Travise Taute, Nosipho Dumisa & Daryne Joshua

Lockdown Season 5 (Mzansi Magic)

Practitioner: Mandla Ngcogwane

Tydelik Terminal (kykNET)

Practitioners: Etienne Fourie & Elanie Rupping        

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *